Nick Power

Nick Power

Nick Power is keyboard player and songwriter in The Coral

They're not like Echo & the Bunnymen and they claim they're not the seaside Scousers of their hometown of Hoylake, for The Coral are crazy geezers, Happy Mondays-style. Comprised of six neighborhood mates James Skelly (guitar/vocals), Ian Skelly (drums), Nick Power (organ), Bill Ryder-Jones (guitar/trumpet), Lee Southall (guitar/vocals) and Paul Duffy (bass/sax), The Coral formed in their early teens in 1996. NME was quick to jump on them in fall 2001, proclaiming The Coral as the best new band in England thanks to the popularity of 'Shadows Fall' The next summer, The Coral was still a buzz - their self-titled debut album appeared on Sony Music UK in July. The Coral made their way to America in early 2003 with their self-titled debut release for Columbia. 'The Invisible Invasion' followed two years later. 2007's 'Roots & Echoes' was released to muted acclaim and on January 9 2008, Bill Ryder-Jones announced his departure from the band.

Now a five-piece, The Coral released their fifth album, 'Butterfly House' in July 2010.